Editorial Board

HematologyTimes.com™ Editorial Board:

Ronald Hoffman, MD, Chair, is a professor of medicine in the Hematology and Medical Oncology Department at Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, New York, where he leads the Myeloproliferative Disorder Research Consortium. Dr Hoffman was president of the American Society of Hematology in 2003 and is a past editor of Experimental Hematology. He sits on the editorial board of several hematology publications, has more than 350 peer-reviewed publications, and is the senior editor of the classic textbook Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice.

Charles L. Bennett, MD, PhD, is Director of the Center for Medication Safety and Endowed Chair in Medication Safety and Efficacy, South Carolina Centers of Economic Excellence in Health Care Quality, at the South Carolina College of Pharmacy. Dr Bennett is an active member on the practice and outcomes assessment committees for the American Society of Hematology, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the National Cancer Center Network, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group. Dr Bennett has over 200 peer-reviewed publications.

James B. Bussel, MD, is a professor of pediatric hematology/oncology at Weill Medical College of Cornell University in New York, New York. Dr Bussel specializes in immune thrombocytopenic purpura (ITP), HIV-related thrombocytopenia, ITP in pregnancy, alloimmune thrombocytopenia, and congenital amegakaryocytic thrombocytopenias. He received the Alpha Award of the American Blood Resources Association for Contributions in Immunohematology. Dr Bussel has nearly 200 peer-reviewed publications and has contributed several chapters to hematology text books.

Franco Cavalli, MD, is director of the Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland in Bellinzona, and professor of medical oncology at the University of Bern and the University of Varese in Italy. Dr Cavalli organizes the triennial International Conference on Malignant Lymphoma in Lugano. This is the leading international forum for basic and clinical research in lymphomas. Dr Cavalli was a member of the Swiss Parliament from 1995 to 2007, he has served on the Scientific Committee of the European School of Oncology, and he founded Annals of Oncology and served as its editor-in-chief from 1990 to 2000. In July 2006, Dr Cavalli became president of the International Union Against Cancer (UICC).

Francine Foss, MD, is a professor of medical oncology, director of immunotherapy, and codirector of the Leukemia, Lymphoma, and Myeloma Program at Yale Cancer Center in New Haven, Connecticut. Dr Foss’s clinical expertise includes T-cell and B-cell lymphomas, stem cell transplantation, and graft-versus-host disease. Her research interests include stem cell allotransplantation, pharmacologic agents for lymphoma, and bone marrow transplantation. She sits on the editorial board of Clinical Lymphoma and chairs the annual T-Cell Lymphoma Forum.

Steven D. Gore, MD, is a professor of internal medicine and director of hematologic malignancies at the Yale School of Medicine in New Haven, Connecticut. Dr Gore’s clinical interests include epigenetics, myelodysplasia, and acute and chronic adult leukemias. His research studies the development of novel effective therapies for the treatment of resistant myeloid neoplasms, including myelodysplastic syndromes, and he is currently focused on the development of drugs that inhibit histone deacetylase activity. Dr Gore founded and chairs the biennial, international meeting on Epigenetics in Cancer Therapy.

Craig M. Kessler, MD, is a professor of medicine and pathology in the Division of Hematology-Oncology at Georgetown University Medical Center in Washington, DC. He is also director of the Division of Coagulation in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and director of the Adult Component, Washington Area Hemophilia Comprehensive Care Center at Georgetown. Dr Kessler’s clinical specialties include hemophilia, coagulation and platelet disorders, and von Willebrand disease. He is a fellow of the American College of Internal Medicine and has received the Alpha Therapeutic Award for his research and clinical work in bleeding and clotting disorders.

Charles Frederick LeMaistre, MD, is Vice President, Physician in Chief, Hematology, at Sarah Cannon in Nashville, Tennessee. Dr LeMaistre is also the current President of the American Society for Bone Marrow Transplantation. His particular research interests focus on graft-versus-host disease, and the influence of race and socioeconomic status on outcomes from hematopoietic cell transplantation. Dr LeMaistre has over 100 peer-reviewed publications and chapters.

Jerry L. Spivak, MD, is a professor of medicine and oncology and director of the Center for Chronic Myeloproliferative Disorders at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr Spivak’s research is centered on the molecular basis of MPDs and the means for distinguishing it diagnostically and with respect to therapeutic intervention. Dr Spivak serves on several editorial boards, has over 200 chapters and peer-reviewed publications, and he cochairs the biennial International Congress on Myeloproliferative Diseases and Myelodysplastic Syndromes.

Apostolia-Maria Tsimberidou, MD, PhD, is assistant professor in the Department of Investigational Cancer Therapeutics, at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. Her research and clinical interests revolve around targeted therapies, personalized medicine, and cancer molecular biology. Dr Tsimberidou is also on the faculty in the Clinical Center for Targeted Therapy and the Phase I Clinical Trials Program, both at M.D. Anderson. Her work has focused extensively on such hematologic malignancies as chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma, lymphoproliferative disorders, acute myeloid leukemia, and myelodysplastic syndromes.